News & Updates

December 17, 2018

Representatives Kerry Rich, Randall Shedd, and David Standridge announced to house committee leadership positions

Alabama Speaker of the House Mac McCutcheon (R-Monrovia) on Monday announced the state representatives who will serve as chairs and vice-chairs of the body’s 25 standing committees during the 2018-2022 quadrennium.

“Each of these members possess specific talents, experiences, knowledge, and leadership skills, and we worked hard to match those factors with the committees they fit best,” McCutcheon explained in a press release. “The men and women we name today have my full faith and confidence, and I know they will use their chairman positions to help make our already great state even better.”

McCutcheon was recently nominated to continue serving as speaker by the 77-member House Republican Caucus, which is considered tantamount to election in the 105-member house. He said that the committee leadership announcements will allow offices and committee clerks to be assigned and more intensive preparations for the upcoming regular session to begin.

Full committee rosters will be announced during the 2019 organizational session, which is scheduled to convene on January 8.

The members who will lead the House standing committees are as follows:

Rules: Chairman Mike Jones (R – Andalusia) and Vice Chair Paul Lee (R – Dothan)
Consent Calendar Subcommittee: Chairwoman Pebblin Warren (D – Tuskegee)

Ways and Means Education: Chairman Bill Poole (R – Tuscaloosa) and Vice Chair Danny Garrett (R – Trussville)

Ways and Means General Fund: Chairman Steve Clouse (R – Ozark) and Vice Chair Kyle South (R – Fayette)

Agriculture and Forestry: Chairman Danny Crawford (R – Athens) and Vice Chair Steve Hurst (R – Munford)

Boards, Agencies, and Commissions: Chairman Howard Sanderford (R – Huntsville) and Vice Chair Mike Holmes (R – Wetumpka)

Children and Senior Advocacy: Chairman K.L. Brown (R – Jacksonville) and Vice Chair Randall Shedd (R – Cullman)

Commerce and Small Business: Chairman Jim Carns (R – Vestavia) and Vice Chair Dimitri Polizos (R – Montgomery)

Constitution, Campaigns, and Elections: Chairman Matt Fridy (R – Montevallo) and Vice Chair Bob Fincher (R – Woodland)

County and Municipal Government: Chairman Reed Ingram (R – Montgomery) and Vice Chair Margie Wilcox (R – Mobile)

Economic Development and Tourism: Chairwoman Becky Nordgren (R – Gadsden) and Vice Chair Ron Johnson (R – Sylacauga)

Education Policy: Chairwoman Terri Collins (R – Decatur) and Vice Chair Danny Garrett (R – Trussville)

Ethics and Campaign Finance: Chairman Mike Ball (R – Madison) and Vice Chair Rich Wingo (R – Tuscaloosa)

Financial Services: Chairman Chris Blackshear (R – Phenix City) and Vice Chair Jimmy Martin (R – Clanton)

Fiscal Responsibility: Chairman Chris Sells (R – Greenville) and Vice Chair Mike Holmes (R – Wetumpka)

Health: Chairwoman April Weaver (R – Brierfield) and Vice Chair Ron Johnson (R – Sylacauga)

Insurance: Chairman Kerry Rich (R – Albertville) and Vice Chair Corley Ellis (R – Columbiana)

Internal Affairs: Chairman Randy Wood (R – Anniston) and Vice Chair Nathaniel Ledbetter (R – Rainsville)

Judiciary: Chairman Jim Hill (R – Odenville) and Vice Chair Tim Wadsworth (R – Arley)

Local Legislation: Chairman Alan Baker (R – Brewton) and Vice Chair Ritchie Whorton (R – Valley)

Military and Veterans Affairs: Chairman Dickie Drake (R – Leeds) and Vice Chair Connie Rowe (R – Jasper)

Public Safety and Homeland Security: Chairman Allen Treadaway (R – Morris) and Vice Chair Allen Farley (R – McCalla)

State Government: Chairman Chris Pringle (R – Mobile) and Vice Chair Chris Sells (R – Greenville)

Technology and Research: Chairman Joe Lovvorn (R – Auburn) and Vice Chair Corey Harbison (R – Good Hope)

Transportation, Utilities, and Infrastructure: Chairman Lynn Greer (R – Rogersville) and Vice Chair Joe Faust (R – Fairhope)

Urban and Rural Development: Chairman Randall Shedd (R – Cullman) and Vice Chair David Standridge (R – Hayden)

Sean Ross is a staff writer for Yellowhammer News. You can follow him on Twitter @sean_yhn

View All News & Updates